Complications of Mangled Extremities: The Role of Hand Therapy

August 31, 2017
Online

Date:  August 31, 2017

Time:  5:30 PM PT / 6:30 PM MT / 7:30 PM CT / 8:30 PM ET

Deadline to register:  August 31 at 7:30 PM ET

Presented by:  Kimberly McVeigh, MBA, OTR/L, CHT

Format:  45 minutes presentation, 15 minutes Q&A

Description:  
This webinar will describe current approaches to rehabilitating complex injuries to the upper extremity. The topics will include communication, problem solving, wound care, teamwork, decision making, evaluation of long-term hand function and solutions to complications that may arise in the treatments of these patients.

Learning Objectives:
At the end of the presentation, participants will be able to:

  1. Identify what a mangled extremity is.
  2. Identify the surgeon’s hierarchy of decision making when repairing a mangled extremity.
  3. Recognize the hand therapist’s decision making hierarchy when determining when to move hand joints actively or passively based on presentation of various structures and repairs.
  4. Identify the 11 essential functions of the hand.

Attendees earn 1 continuing education hour/0.1 CEU for this webinar.

Registration Fee:
Members:  $35
Non-Members:  $55
Student Members:  $20
Student Non-Members:  $30

Presenter(s)