2018 Call for Awards

lauren detullio
Posted by Lauren DeTullio, OTR/L, CHT on 06/11/2018

Once again it is time to nominate and recognize a colleague for their achievements. There are several ASHT awards that will be presented at the Annual Meeting. These awards exemplify the accomplishments these individuals have done in hand therapy.

The Nathalie Barr Lectureship Award is among ASHT’s highest honors, recognizing and honoring a member of the American Society of Hand Therapists who has made significant original contributions to hand rehabilitation through the development or refinement of professional theory and/or techniques, contributions to hand therapy development as a profession and to ASHT and/or outstanding research.

The Paul Brand Award recognizes individuals who have exemplified humanitarianism in their work as a hand therapist in addition to providing clinical and professional excellence in several facets of practice. The candidate for this award is one who strives for the advancement of hand therapy, which may include underserved areas nationally and/or internationally.

The MacDermid Lifetime Scientific Award in Hand Therapy recognizes an ASHT member who has made contributions through research to the science and practice of hand rehabilitation, which have subsequently changed hand therapy professional standards.

Lifetime Fellowship status is an honor awarded to individuals in recognition of career-long contributions to the society and the field of hand rehabilitation.

Honorary Membership Award recognizes individuals for their long-term professional interest and interaction with the society. Recipients have made significant noteworthy advancements to the hand therapy field. The nomination is open to professionals who are not certified hand therapists (CHTs) and/or those not eligible to be members of the Society.

For full details on these awards and the nomination process, please visit the Awards page. Don’t be late! The submission deadline is June 20, 2018.

Lauren DeTullio, OTR/L, CHT
Awards Committee Chair